?

Log in

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Public post for new friends...

Since Ang (prfctlyimprfct) was so kind to introduce me to some of her dearest friends in Seattle and NY, I thought I'd make this recent meme public so they can get to know me a little bit. :)  

1. First Name: Cari

2. Age: 31

3. Location: Redmond, WA

4. Occupation: SAHM with the occasional graphic design contract. Before I became a SAHM I worked for four years doing marketing communications and graphic design for a memory company in Silicon Valley...not my ideal job but one that allowed me to do a lot of wedding channel/LJ surfing at work (!)

5. Partner: Steve, 32. He's a group manager in the Business Marketing Organization (BMO) of the US sub at Microsoft. He loves to cook, eat, drink, bike and lately has been into landscape design.

6. Kids:  

Roman - He's almost 3.5 and has his moments of being really sweet, usually followed by a bout of naughtiness! He's stubborn like his father and sweet like his mother (ha!). He has an incredible palate and LOVES all types of food. His four basic food groups seem to be sushi, cheese (he loves all cheese, even pungent ones), fresh veggies (sugar snap peas and radishes are his favorite) and butter (whenever we bake I have to keep it away from him or he'll take a bite out of the block). 

Aaron - He's 4.5 months and has been incredibly fun lately! He loves to talk to you and "sing" with my MIL. He loves bright colors, especially red and yellow. If you wear something bright he might never take his eyes off of you! He's a really happy, chill baby and I couldn't be happier about it.

7. Brothers/Sisters: One older sister, Angela, who will be 38 this year and one older brother, Karl, who just turned 34. Angela lives in San Antonio with her family (husband and three boys) and Karl lives in Guam with his family (wife and three children--two daughters and a son).

8. Pets: Two cats, Goa and Bali. They hated each other for the first five years of Bali's life but now seem to tolerate each other.

9. List the 3-5 biggest things going on in your life:

a. Potty training Roman. This has been a battle for the last two months but I went full speed ahead with it again recently. I hope I have more patience this time around! Just a little background info--I would have tried to potty train him when he was 2.5 but we had A LOT going on at that time. My dad, who was diagnosed with cancer in October of '06 was terminal and given 3-6 months to live. I spent a majority of the summer going back and forth between Seattle and Guam. On top of that I was pregnant with Aaron! Yeah, a lot to deal with. When I got back from my last trip when he passed away in October, I had a couple of months of "down time" which was really me just trying to process my devastating loss. Well, in December I started to have complications with my pregnancy--Aaron would have heart decels (which usually indicate some sort of umbilical cord kink or knot) and as a result I was hospitalized three times and put on full bed rest for the remainder of my pregnancy. So yeah, there was no potty training going on then. :-\ Roman finally got interested in the potty when Aaron was less than a month old and we ran with it, only to have him really regress. It was so much stress for me to deal with so we stopped everything for a few weeks and now we're back on track! 

b. making summer travel plans--we are thinking of going to Victoria or Vancouver when my mom visits us again next month. We also have a slew of houseguests this summer starting with my mom, the ILs, my BFF Leiana (coming this Thursday!), my sis and her kids, etc. It's going to be a busy summer!

c. Getting Roman ready for the Jewish Day School in the fall. He'll be going three days a week, four hours a day and I can't wait! It will give me a lot of one-on-one time with Aaron as well as some gym time.

d. Losing this baby weight. I have ten pounds that I can't beat with a stick and I really think it will hang on until I stop nursing. I'm FAMISHED every day--way more than I was with Roman! So strange. I'm really trying to eat very healthfully and work out at least twice a week.

10. Where and for what did you go to school for? I went to a small private Catholic school in the Bay Area (Notre Dame de Namur University) where I majored in Marketing and minored in Sociology. 

11) Parents? 
Mom, Julie, is 59. She worked in HR before having us kids (actually only quit to be a SAHM after I was born) and pretty much has been managing the household since. 

Dad, Ricardo, passed away last year at the age of 58. He worked for the Piti Power Plant in Guam first as an apprentice at age 18 and retired at age 45 as the civilian Director of the plant (it's a Federal Government run power plant so my dad had the highest civilian position held there). He enjoyed his retirement for a few years before buying into a facilities management company (Advance Corporation). He was one of five partners and did all of the business development for the company before he passed away. He was diagnosed with cancer in '06 and passed away a year later.

In August, they would have been married 39 years. I don't know how my mom is going to deal on their anniversary--she is pretty much avoiding grieving for him (avoidance is her way of "dealing" with things) so I'm really nervous about it. They loved each other so much, they were true life partners in every sense of the word. I'm so sad about losing my dad but I'm even more sad for my mom having to live life without him.

11b. Grandparents: I only knew my maternal grandmother and my mom's paternal grandmother. Everyone else passed away before I was born. My dad lost both of his parents when he was 16 years old and my mom lost her dad when she was 8.

12) Who are some of your closest friends? Besides my DH...
I'm so fortunate to have many, many close friends. My BFsF are Nadia, Leiana and Corrine. I've known Nadia the longest out of the three (I met her in 8th grade, the other two were in high school). We are more like sisters than friends. They are the type of friends that would drop anything for you. We may not talk all of the time but when we do it is like no time has passed. Nadia and I usually talk once a week but I think it's because we truly have been living parallel lives--we got married three weeks from each other and our older kids are 5 months apart. She is pg again and due in January, so her baby (who I think is a boy!) will be almost a year younger than Aaron.

Then I have my childhood friends whom I've known since I was about five. Again, they are really more like family than friends.

I also have my Bay Area friends, who are friends I met in college and/or are friends of Steve. 

And finally, I have my Seattle friends, a few women I am really close with. We met through Gymboree, mom's clubs and Roman's preschool. I just gelled with them as women...I guess I'm just lucky our kids like each other as well. :)


So that's me in a nutshell. I look forward to getting to know all of you!

Tags:

Comments

( 12 comments — Leave a comment )
linnyloplop
Jun. 19th, 2008 12:24 pm (UTC)
Welcome, Cari!

I did not do that meme, but my name is Lindsey, I am 29 and a SAHM. My daughter, Amelia, is 2 next month. We live in Maine and my husband is a cardiology fellow at a hospital here. He got a job in Mass and we will move there next year (can't wait!). I came here from the Wedding Channel and some of these women have been my friends for more than 4 years.
sfguamgirl
Jun. 19th, 2008 10:16 pm (UTC)
Hi Lindsey! I look forward to getting to know more about you! I also came from the WC and have known some of the women on my FL for seven years. I can't believe it has been that long! :)
crazyhappy1
Jun. 19th, 2008 01:31 pm (UTC)
I love how you said Roman is sweet like you. :p Aaron has excellent tastes in colors. My fav color has always been yellow and my DH's fav is red. So how did you guys come up with the names of your kitties? I love them and they're so different. I'm so sorry about the loss of your dad. That is just so young and cancer is so awful. :(

Nikki :D
sfguamgirl
Jun. 19th, 2008 10:19 pm (UTC)
Hi Nikki,

Goa is an island in India and I've always liked the name. :) Bali is an island in Indonesia that I've had the pleasure of visiting, so in keeping with the island theme that's what we named her when we got her!

Thanks for your comment about my dad. I can't believe it has been 8.5 months since he passed. He was definitely too young. :(
fatsella
Jun. 19th, 2008 03:26 pm (UTC)
Hi Cari! Nice to have a new friend!

I did the meme but who knows how far back it is. I'm Stacey and I've got a 2 year old little boy named Hunter. I'm from New York but we moved out here (Snoqualmie) last November for a better lifestyle. I stopped working when we moved and DH is at T-Mobile, with MUCH better hours (we were both lawyers in NY) so it's been a great change for us.

I'm looking forward to getting to know you!
sfguamgirl
Jun. 19th, 2008 10:21 pm (UTC)
Hi Stacey! Snoqualmie isn't too far from Redmond...do you ever make your way here? I'm sure you have a much better lifestyle here, but do you miss NY? I *heart* that city. :) I can't imagine what it must be like to raise a family there, though!

I look forward to getting to know you as well! Thanks for friending me.
fatsella
Jun. 20th, 2008 12:54 am (UTC)
I really haven't been in Redmond much but now that the weather is getting nicer I'd love to hang out at the Town Center. I went there once and was in heaven!!

I haven't really missed NY until recently - the crappy weather didn't make it any easier!
littlest_e
Jun. 19th, 2008 05:46 pm (UTC)
Hey Cari, I'm a friend of Ang's and I also live in Redmond. :) I would love to be friended.

e.
sfguamgirl
Jun. 19th, 2008 10:22 pm (UTC)
Done! :) Did you grow up here or are you a transplant like a majority of us?
littlest_e
Jun. 19th, 2008 10:31 pm (UTC)
I actually grew up on Bainbridge Is, went to school at the UW and now work at MSFT living in Redmond. How much more North West could you possibly get. ;)

e.
abeonde
Jun. 24th, 2008 01:59 pm (UTC)
Welcome Cari! I just saw Ang's post as I was out of town all weekend. I Live in Charlotte, NC right now with my husband Kyle. We'll be having our 3rd wedding anniversary on 11/11 and we'll probably start TTC in September. Right now we have 3 fur-babies. One 7 or 8 yr old cat, Koby, and 2 female basset hounds, Emma (4 yrs), and Ellie (3 yrs). I currently work for the City in their purchasing department, but I have a degree in Culinary Arts and Food Service Management. My husband is working for a small company here as an assistant property manager. I was on the WC for quite some time and have known many of my friends here for as long as 4-5 years, but i'm always happy to meet a new friend!
sfguamgirl
Jun. 24th, 2008 04:30 pm (UTC)
Thanks for adding me! I look forward to getting to know you. :) I'm so interested in your CA background--I love finding new restaurants and eating (of course). My DH Steve is an amazing cook and would love to open a bistro some day!
( 12 comments — Leave a comment )

Profile

engagement
sfguamgirl
sfguamgirl

Latest Month

December 2010
S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by yoksel